Gotye is cool.

I think I’m late to the party on this one, but I only recently became aware of Gotye, and he’s excellent. I’ve only just begun digging through his discography, but the first two songs I heard by him have already found their way to multiple plays on my iPod/iTunes – so you know they’re good.

My buddy Bob shared “Night Drive” with me, reminiscing about times in high school when, lacking anything more exciting to do on a weekend night in our somewhat sleepy town, we would aimlessly drive through neighborhoods, talking and observing (sometimes punctuated by late-night grocery trips). Who hasn’t done this before, though? This song could be the soundtrack to those nights. I’m particularly keen on the imaginative lyrics like “The world plays for our pleasure/On our windshield silver screen” and “The highway lines pass by/in two-four double-time”. Never mind that the underlying rhythm line strangely resembles Toto’s “Africa”—this is just a super chill song.

The other Gotye song I just heard (via a “Glee” rendition, naturally) actually charted at #1 all over the world last year. I can’t think of a better way to put it – this song is just so interesting. It’s one of the most unique sounding songs I’ve heard in a long time, with the interspersed xylophone flourishes, drum cadences, and emotional voices. And I love how unapologetically honest the lyrics are. These are not prepackaged vocals – it’s as if you can hear the exact argument the singers are having. I’m so intrigued by this song.

Beyond these two, I quickly listened to two other singles he’s charted, “Eyes Wide Open” and “Hearts a Mess”. They’re all really different, and really cool. I’m definitely gonna keep exploring his music.

~ by Marcus on 04/12/2012.

Come at me, bro.

 
