I can’t shake it

Do you ever have a song where just a random line or two gets stuck in your head on and off for like, a month? You hardly even know the rest of the lyrics, other than just that one part? It’s not just me, right?

For me it’s been, “Shake me down/Not a lot of people left around” and “Even on a cloudy day” rattling around intermittently for so long that I can’t remember what my life was like before I heard Cage the Elephant’s “Shake Me Down”.

Ok, maybe I’m exaggerating. I’m not even that big of a fan of this song overall. It’s kinda depressing, and pretty repetitive. But I guess I like the timbre of the lead singer’s voice, and those repeated lines stick with me apparently. It’s a little rough around the edges, especially in the post-chorus breakdown like 2:15 in.

All in all, this is an okay song. It’s another SiriusXM AltNation song, so it’s on all the time on that channel (like any radio station, at any given time they have a shortlist of like 20 songs that get played over and over). And if I listen to it once, it’s like I’m listening to it a thousand times. Rabble rabble.

~ by Marcus on 07/08/2012.

Come at me, bro.

 
